Granny’s Grub: Chili

My Grandma is the greatest person I know and she is by far the best cook on this planet. I know that this is what everyone says about their grandma, but this time it’s true. She can make me toast and somehow make it taste ten times better than it would have if I were the one making it. I don’t know how she does it. I guess I’m going to have to go with that old cliche: she makes it with love.

That is why I have decided to share some of her recipes with you. She tends to take the most simple of ingredients and turn them into something amazing. The first installment in Granny’s Grub is her Chili.

chili

My Grandma’s chili is the perfect dish on a cold night! The weather has been crazy this Spring here in New York so my Grandma made this just a few weeks ago on one of those chilly April nights. A chilly April is no fun but if the day ends with a nice bowl a chili, then that makes it slightly better.

chilibowl

Yes I am a glutton who started eating before I even took the picture.

I hovered over the stove watching my Grandma make this and I couldn’t believe how easy it was. She made it even easier by using a packaged chili seasoning. A quick google search will show you plenty of homemade chili seasonings so you can easily go with either option. I’d personally stick with the McCormick chili seasoning because if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

Adapted from My Lovely Grandma

Recipe Card

Chili

Ingredients:
1 lb. ground beef
2 small onions, chopped
1 package McCormick original chili mix
1 15-oz. can of red kidney beans, drained
2 8-oz. cans of tomato sauce
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 cup water
Salt and pepper for seasoning

Directions:
1. Brown the meat in a skillet. Once meat is brown, remove from the skillet and set aside.
2. Add onions to the skillet and cook for about 8 minutes.
3. Add meat, along with the rest of the ingredients, into the pan with the onions. Cover and let simmer for thirty minutes.
4. Serve over white rice. Optional: top with sour cream, chopped onions, or shredded cheese.

Leave a Reply

