Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

8442457After nearly five years of marriage, Nick and Amy Dunne have hit a rough patch. Both partners have lost their job, Amy has lost almost her entire trust fund, and with both of Nick’s parents terminally ill, the Dunne’s move back to Nick’s childhood town, North Carthage, Missouri. Then on the morning of  their fifth anniversary, Amy goes missing. Nick enters his home, which has visible signs of a struggle, and his wife is nowhere to be found.

Nick swears his innocence but the mounting evidence against him, forces the cops to zero in on him as the prime suspect. As every new clue discovered leads directly to Nick, it seems as though the only one sticking by his side is his twin sister Margo, or Go as he likes to call her.

The book is told through the perspective of both Nick and Amy. We see Amy through diary entries she’s made throughout the years since she first met Nick. Each character purposely keeps important information from their reader, especially in the first half, so it’s always difficult to figure out what exactly is going on. Who is telling the truth and who is lying.

What I Thought Before I Started Reading: This has a really interesting premise and I’ve been hearing a lot of great things. I can’t wait to try it out.
What I Thought in the Middle of Reading: Ok, I’m pretty sure this a Lifetime movie posing as a book.
What I Thought When I Was Done: Woah, the ending! That book was really entertaining and I definitely enjoyed myself. But it is pretty crazy.

“You two are the most fucked-up people I have ever met.” Sorry for the profanity but that line was uttered by a lawyer towards the end of the book about the two main characters, Nick and Amy. Let me just say that there has never been a more true sentence written in any book ever. I wasn’t exaggerating when I said earlier that Gone Girl is the book version of a Lifetime movie. Every new revelation seems even more insane than the last. It’s difficult to write a detailed review for this book because I do not want to give anything away.

I will say that this book is highly entertaining. It kept me interested because I constantly wanted to know what was going to happen next. Don’t expect to really like the characters in this book. You’re inside the mind of either a misogynistic narcissist or a sociopath. Definitely not endearing qualities. There were times when I started to feel bad for Nick or Amy and then I would just feel icky about it when I was reminded of how horrible they are in the next chapter.

I did have a problem with the blatant misogyny in this novel. And I am not just talking about the thoughts by Nick Dunne. Many of his remarks were pertinent to develop his character. His father hated women and Nick’s biggest fear is to grow up to be just like his father. But as hard as he fights it, he turns into a women fearing-man. The only female whose company he seems to genuinely enjoy is Go, his twin sister. However, there are quite a few lines about beauty and the comparisons between pretty women and ugly women that I found unsettling. Sometimes I feel as though authors hide behind their characters too much. Flynn may swear she doesn’t share Amy’s views on unattractive women but I’m not sure I would buy it.

Notable Quotes:
“They knit their eyebrows and pretend to think of men they can set me up with, but we all know there’s no one left, and I know that they secretly think there’s something wrong with me, something hidden away that makes me unsatisfiable, unsatisfying.” – Amy

“So I know I am right not to settle, but it doesn’t make me feel better as my friends pair off and I stay home on Friday night with a bottle of wine and make myself an extravagant meal and tell myself, This is perfect, as if I’m the one dating me.” – Amy

Side note: I hate to admit to relating to anything said by anyone in this book but the single girl in me found these two quotes perfect.

Final Verdict: While I did have some issues with the book, I found it highly entertaining. I gave it a 4-star rating on Goodreads.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn | Eclectic Books

  2. Pingback: The Best of the Best of 2013 | Eat Your Way Smart

Leave a Reply

