Cajun Brownies

CAM00210

My house is full of hungry monsters; couldn’t get a full pic of the cake before people started digging in.

I’m pretty sure I originally saw this made on an episode of Paula Deen. I’m also pretty sure I had the recipe pinned at one time. However, when I finally decided I wanted to make some cajun brownies, I couldn’t locate the original recipe anywhere. Thank goodness for Google I easily found a recipe online for it. And it came from a site called Real Cajun Recipes so it has to be legit!

If you have a sweet tooth, it’s going to be VERY happy after eating these brownies. They’re delicious but super sweet. A topping made with an entire box of powdered sugar, what else did I expect? This is one of those desserts that’s really good but only in small doses. Unless of course, if you are five-years-old. My little cousin LOVED this. If we weren’t there to stop him, he would have eaten the entire thing without a single break.

CAM00208

Look at how ooey gooey the top of the brownies are!

The base of the brownies is made with boxed cake mix. I love recipes like that. A fun twist on cake mix to make it even better. It’s fun and it’s a lot easier than making something fully from scratch.

You may be tempted to cook the brownies for longer than the 45 minutes, but don’t do it. The toothpick may not come out completely clean but that’s fine. The top part of the brownies are supposed to be a little gooey.

Adapted from Real Cajun Recipes

Recipe Card

Cajun Brownies

Ingredients:
1 box yellow cake mix
1 stick butter, melted
8 ounces softened cream cheese
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 box powdered sugar

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 9×13 pan with cooking spray.
2. In a large bowl, mix together cake mix, butter, and one egg. Mix until all ingredients are incorporated and start to look like dough. Spread the dough on the bottom of the pan.
3. In a separate bowl, mix together cream cheese, 2 eggs, and vanilla until smooth. Add the powdered sugar a little bit at a time, mixing until all lumps are removed. Pour the mixture over the dough.
4. Bake in the oven for 45 minutes. Let cool for at least 10 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Cajun Brownies

  1. I tasted these wonderful brownies at my work place. They are heavenly. I couldn’t stop eating them. I currently have them cooling on my island in the kitchen. This is my first time to make them and they were so easy to make. My co-worker said she put a cup of pecans pieces in her crust so I did it the same way. YUMMY! Thank you Lady Liz for this awesome recipe.

    • Hi Brenda! Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the brownies. Adding pecans sounds amazing! I will definitely need to try that ASAP!

Leave a Reply

