Book Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

urlAfter one fateful night at a New York City club, fifteen-year-old Clary Fray’s life will change forever. She witnesses a murder committed by three teenagers. A murder that she seems to be the only one who saw. It turns out this is Clary’s first encounter with Shadowhunters – warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons.

After that night, Clary meets Jace, a Shawdowhunter, who introduces her to his world. She discovers that there is an entire underground world in her city, a world that is invisible to everyone else. When she is attacked by a demon and her mother goes missing, Clary goes on a search to rescue her mother and in the process begins to discover secrets about her past and find who she really is.

What I Was Thinking Before I Started Reading: I don’t really know anything about this book but I saw it on some site listing books with movies coming out this year. Sounds interesting enough so I’ll give it a try.
What I Was Thinking In The Middle of Reading: I have never had a main character make me want to throw my book across the room more than Clary. Also, I am getting a whole lot of Harry Potter vibes from this book. Mundanes, big bad guy named Valentine. All sounds very familiar.
What I Was Thinking When I Finished Reading: After reading a few reviews from Goodreads, the whole Harry Potter* vibes make a lot of sense now.

So I know in my Fifty Shades review I said that I don’t enjoy bashing books, but it seems I’m going to have to break that rule once again. This may sound wrong but it’s so much more entertaining to review the crappy books. When reviewing a good book there are only so many ways you can say, “This book was amazingly well-written and I think everyone should read it.”

This book bothered me for many reasons. The characters were one-dimensional and stereotypical. I particularly had a problem with Clare’s portrayal of Jace. She went the Edward Cullen route by turning Jace into a rude, egomaniac who constantly belittles Clary, but it’s all OK because he’s ridiculously good-looking. How do authors not realize how dangerous it is to constantly bombard impressionable young girls with this type of relationship**?

It was also hard to get into the book when every other paragraph the main character made me want to smash my head through a window. (This is not an exaggeration. It’s a good thing I read this mostly in my basement where I had no access to a window.) She was incredibly selfish (only caring about the welfare of her mother and best friend Simon when it was convenient for her). She was also stupid (sorry for the name calling but it’s true). This book lacked subtlety. Everything was spelt out for the reader. I knew what was going to happen chapters before it was revealed. But for some reason Clary needed stick figures, dioramas, and pie charts to understand things that were right in front of her face. It was incredibly frustrating.

*I have no problem with fan fiction. Some of it is quite good. I also have no problem with someone who writes fan fiction becoming a published author. I do, however, have a problem with the actual fan fiction becoming the published work. But that’s for a whole other article.

**I am not even going to get into the incestual aspect of their relationship. I’m sure it gets all neatly wrapped up in the next book but it was uncomfortable to read.

Final Verdict: This is one of those books where the more I thought about it, the more I hated it. I gave it a 1-star rating on Goodreads. You couldn’t pay me to read the other four, soon to be FIVE, books in the series!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

  1. Pingback: The Ultimate Summer Reading List: Something for Everyone | Eat Your Way Smart

  2. Pingback: I’m Wearing a Dress, Therefore I Must be Stupid | Eat Your Way Smart

  3. Pingback: An Open Letter to the Staff of BookCon | Eat Your Way Smart

Leave a Reply

