Book Review: The Host by Stephanie Meyer

1656001The earth has been invaded by alien creatures that inhabit the bodies of humans in an effort to preserve the earth. Once a human body has been taken over, their entire being begins to fade away. However, when Melanie Stryder is taken over by an alien host, she refuses to go away. Her consciousness is still very much intact and a battle ensues between her and her alien host, Wanderer.

Melanie is determined to find the humans she left behind, her lover Jared and her younger brother Jamie. Riveted by the images of Melanie’s memories, Wanderer begins to fall in love with the men as well. When they eventually find who they’ve been looking for, both women are fighting for the attention of the man they love.

What I Was Thinking Before I Started Reading: I’m interested to see if Meyer can write a higher quality story with better characters.
What I Was Thinking In The Middle of Reading: Omg! How can a book about an alien invasion be so incredibly boring?
What I Was Thinking When I Finished Reading: Ok, I officially give up. I don’t care if Meyer write 500 more books, I will not read another one.

I was not kidding about the boring thing. This book is 600 pages of nothing. I really would like to sit here and tell you what the book is about but I’m not really sure. Aliens come to overtake the human population. But basically the entire book is about two people in love. Then an alien (the host) goes ahead and falls in love with a human. The entire book is about falling in love. Don’t get me wrong, love is a wonderful thing. Falling in love can be fantastic and a great theme for a story. However, it is not the only thing in the world. Come on, Meyer! Step out of your little box a bit.

Since not much happens in this book, I do not have much to write about. Instead I would like to address the fact that all of Stehanie Meyer’s relationships have an undertone of pedophilia. It’s always there but then there is some factor that tries to excuse the inappropriateness of the relationship. It was there in Twilight. Just because Edward looked like he was 17 and was turned when he was 17, doesn’t mean that he was actually 17. He had been alive for over 100 years! There is something creepy about a 100-year-old vampire saving himself until he finds the right high school teenager to fall in love with.

The implied pedophilia in this book is even worse. For starters, Melanie is 17 when she meets Jared. And Jared? Oh, he’s about 26. Now a nine-year difference isn’t bad at all, but why did Melanie have to be 17? Why purposely make it creepy? There is another part of the book where it’s actually just disturbing. I don’t want to give too much away but one of the aliens takes over the body of a young woman. She is supposed to be a teenager (about 16-17) but Meyer goes into great detail stressing how much younger the girl looks. With the way she was being described, I envisioned a 7-year-old with a pink, ruffly dress and pigtails. This girl is supposed to be the love interest of a much older man. I don’t think I will ever fully understand the message Meyer is trying to say with these images. Age is nothing but a number when it comes to love? Sorry, but that adage does not apply when it’s statutory.

Final Verdict: I just could not deal with how ridiculously boring this book was. I gave it a 1-star rating on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

