Chocolate Buttermilk Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

20131114_092340 2

Well I’ve been away for awhile. I’ve definitely missed blogging about fun books and yummy recipes but sadly life got in the way. My beloved Grandmother, who also happened to be my best friend, passed away two months ago. Moving on and dealing with everyday life has been a lot harder than I expected. They always tell you how difficult it will be when you first lose someone. The first week you just go through the motions. The funeral, the wake, the countless number of things that need to be taken care of. The week is dedicated to your loved one and your loss. You’re almost too busy to mourn.

The thing I feel everyone forgets to mention is that it’s going to get a lot worse before it can even begin to get better. It’s when life goes back to “normal” that it really hits you. Going back to work and getting on with everyday life is when I fully comprehended what losing my grandmother really meant. Whenever anything good or bad happened, she wasn’t there for me to share my news. I no longer had someone to eat dinner with every night. She was usually the first person I saw or spoke to in the morning and now she was just gone. It was a lot harder to deal with than I thought.

I’d like to say that now I’m better and have come to terms with the loss, but that would be a lie. I don’t think I’ll ever fully be OK with it. Sometimes I’ll simply forget that she’s actually gone and I’ll need to remind myself. But I am starting to learn how to cope. With the help of friends and family, each day has started to get a little better. I try to focus on all the good times I’ve had and all the important life lessons my grandmother taught me throughout the years.

I apologize that my first post back in months is so somber. But I do have cupcakes as a consolation. Chocolate Buttermilk Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting to be exact!

20131114_092409

I tend to have a love/hate relationship with buttermilk. Mostly love because it’s such a great ingredient to work with. It tends to make everything taste a million times better. The hate has more to do with the sellers of the product than the product itself. Near me, they only sell buttermilk in quart-sized containers. I only buy buttermilk when I’m making something and the recipe requires it. I bought buttermilk recently to make some fried chicken and ranch dressing. Like always, I had a ton of buttermilk left over. I’m always left scrambling for additional recipes using buttermilk so it doesn’t go to waste.

That’s how I came across this lovely cupcake recipe. It was a win-win. I didn’t have to waste the buttermilk and I got delicious cupcakes out of them. The recipe only makes about 12 cupcakes, depending on the size of your pan. Feel free to double the recipe if you want more cupcakes. And really, who doesn’t want more cupcakes?

Adapted from Raspberri Cupcakes

Recipe Card

Chocolate Buttermilk Cupcake

Ingredients:
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
6 tablespoons buttermilk
1 large egg
1 large egg white
3 tablespoons hot water

Directions:

1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt, and set aside.
3. In a separate bowl, combine the cocoa and hot water with an electric mixer until a thick paste forms. Add the butter, buttermilk, whole egg, and egg white to the chocolate. Beat until all the ingredients are combined. Slowly mix in the flour mixture until fully combined.
4. Spoon batter into cupcake liners about 3/4 of the way full. Bake for 20 minutes. Once an inserted toothpick comes out clean, the cupcakes are ready.
5. Place on cooling rack for 30 minutes before frosting. Enjoy!

Recipe Card

Peanut Butter Frosting

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups confectioner sugar
1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup peanut butter
2 tablespoons whole milk

Directions:

1. With an electric mixer, combine the sugar and butter until smooth and fully combined.
2. Add the peanut butter and mix. Add the milk and stir until all ingredients are combined. (Note: Depending on the consistency you want out of your frosting, you may want to add a little more or a little less of the milk. I felt that 2 tablespoons was perfect, but you be the judge.)

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Buttermilk Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

Leave a Reply

